top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDagbjört Andrésdóttir

Q&A - first question - What do I like to do that CVI doesn't interfere with?

Hey guys!


I decided to start a Q&A session. Here is the first question - what do I like to do that CVI doesn't interfere with?


Great question. The short answer is There isn't a single thing that I do that CVI doesn't interfere with in a way.

Let's do an experiment. Ask yourself this same question. What tasks do you do during the day that you don't have to use your vision at all? Let me take an example in a normal day for a ,,typical vision" person. Firstly, you wake up and get yourself dressed ( using vision to know where your clothes are as well as where to put them). Next you make and eat breakfast ( using vision to know where things are and to not harm yourself when cutting/frying/cooking things and to know where your food is when eating. Next you brush your teeth and clean yourself ( using vision ). You go to work - drive/bus/bike/ walk - ( using vision to know where you are and not to harm anybody). During work you might write an email, computer work, talk to the workmates, use your phone, fix something, etc. etc. etc. - all tasks where you use vision. Then you might pick the kids up from school/activities, drive home, help kids with school work and make dinner ( again - vision is your primary help). Eat dinner, clear the table... then go watch some TV or read a book to relax ( again - always using vision). During all this, you definately need to send someone a message, sms, facebook - using vision looking at what you're writing. You might be like me, and like to listen to an audiobook or calming music before bedtime. You also need your vision for that - as you need to choose what book/songs you want to listen to, by looking at your tablet/phone or shelf.

Now you probably think; ,,okay, but sleeping doesn't require any use of vision". True, but for us CVI people it kinda does. You see, when we are visually fatigued ( at least in my case) it makes it a looot harder to actually fall asleep. I think the reason is that we're so out of energy that there is none left for letting us doze off. However, of course there are things that you don't use vision as much as for others. For example I love listening to music, as i mentioned here above. The big problem is that people don't realize ( understandably) that everyone constantly use their vision during each day, nonstop. What is different for us CVI'ers, is that to use our vision constantly during the day we have to use at least 20x more energy than someone with ,,typical vision" Imagine that you used as much energy when you look at f.x, your watch to tell time, as if you would use when running the treadmill in the gym :)


My passion in life is for singing, so to answer the question directly, that is the thing I like to do the most. I am unable to read music effectively due to my CVI, so what I have to do is to ,, shut my vision off" while I sing, to be able to concentrate fully. That way I can't look at any sheet music or the audience while I'm on stage. So basically, in my case, when I overuse my vision too much, I go completely blind, until I can relax again. How does my vision go off? I don't know - it just shuts down like a computer screen! This can happen from a couple of seconds up to a couple of mintues. But when this happens I'm still using the same big amount of energy - to concentrate on something else than my vision. ( like singing - listening, standing still, etc etc.)


So, the main thing is - you can't avoid using your vision while you're awake - not a single second. So nothing you ever do doesn't interfere with your vision!


Thank you for your questions, please don't hesitate to comment any other questions you might have for me, for later posts!


Hugs


Dagbjört

103 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Opening up

Hello all! I'm very sorry about the long blog pause on my end..., a lot has been going on. I thought I would write about a couple things here. They are hard to admit and write about - but I think it's

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page